Uncategorized
Leave a comment

National Homemade Soup Day!

Happy National homemade soup day!  Today’s recipe is one of my favorite soups or chili of all time!  It is a white chicken chili that I have been eating for at least two meals a day for the past week.  And, I wish there was more in the crock pot!  Follow the recipe below for an amazing homemade soup to celebrate today!

2 Cups White Cannellini Beans, in package, not cans!

1 Package of Mushrooms

1 Cup Frozen Edamame

1 Cup Frozen Corn

2 Cups Shredded Chicken

8 ounces shredded pepper jack cheese

1 1/2 boxes of Chicken Stock

Chili Powder, Salt Pepper, Paprika

Avocado and black olives for garnish

Follow cannellini beans soaking and cooking directions

Make sure cook the beans in your crock pot and you use chicken stock instead of water for more flavor and to be able to add the rest of the chili ingredients to the crock pot!

Sauté corn and edamame until charred on the outside, add to crock pot

Corn and Edamame Sautéing

Corn and Edamame Sautéing

Sauté mushrooms until golden brown and add to crock pot

Add salt, pepper, chili powder, and paprika

Add shredded chicken to crock pot (or bake in oven and shred using two forks)

White Chicken Chili cooking in crock pot

White Chicken Chili cooking in crock pot

As chili cooks, add spices as needed

Cook in crock pot on medium heat for about 6 hours in order for the flavors to blend together

Thirty minutes before you serve, stir in cheese

When ready to serve, spoon into bowls and top with sliced avocado and black olives

White Chicken Chili

White Chicken Chili

Here are a few other homemade soup recipes to celebrate!

Summer Bouillabaisse with Clams, Mussels, and Cod:  http://newsforchews.com/2011/08/24/sur-la-table-julia-child-cooking-class/

Lemon Chicken Quinoa Soup :  http://newsforchews.com/2014/12/17/lemony-chicken-quinoa-soup/

White Bean and Kale Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2014/11/21/white-bean-and-kale-soup/

Winter White Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2013/12/18/winter-white-soup/

Egg Drop Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2013/11/08/a-simple-soup-recipe/

Tomato Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2013/09/16/meatless-monday-real-tomato-soup/

Pea Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2013/06/24/meatless-monday-pea-soup/

Apple, Sweet Potato, and Pumpkin Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2012/11/12/meatless-monday-apple-sweet-potato-and-pumpkin-soup/

Stoup:  http://newsforchews.com/2012/01/25/stoup-part-soup-part-stew/

Mushroom Barley Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2011/11/07/meatless-monday-mushrom-barley-soup/

Southwestern Squash Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2011/10/31/meatless-monday-southwestern-squash-soup/

Avocado Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2011/09/15/avocado-soup/

Thai Chicken Vegetable Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2013/12/11/swansons-new-line-of-infused-broths/

Guinness French Onion Soup:  http://newsforchews.com/2013/03/13/saint-patricks-day-part-1/

Stay hungry…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *